Part 3 : After

I said

Today Gorge is the luckiest day of your life, I want everything, every shirt, every pair of jeans, every shoe I want it all. I walked out of Neiman Marcus that day down 21,000 dollars and a huge HUGE smile on my face.

By then I was a different jasem, an entrepreneur, I owned a business, a small online business but it was mine and I was proud. I was confident I did well in school 4.0 gpa’s five semesters in a row. I made it to Top finance student and was granted the only seat as an intern at GE Capital where I would then be offered another one at Genworth. I was kicking butt. Happy as ever, confident as ever but I had one vice, I shopped and purchased everything I can fit in I had a disease.

I guess not being able to buy and shop like everyone else made me go on this huge rush to purchase every new shirt, new jeans, new shoes, thinking about it now if I could go back I wouldn’t have done it that way but hey life is all about experiences and that was just one of them.

I later moved back to Kuwait not because I wanted too but because I had too. I have nothing bad to say about moving back here, I just wanted to work more in the states and get more exposure and experiences. Moving back here depressed me for a few months, I was away from my element, I lived at home WHICH I HATE WITH ALL MY HEART, I love my freedom and my privacy and I can’t stand it being at home. I started to pack on the weight slowly gaining pound after pound. Until one day I looked in the mirror and realized that I was headed for disaster. I need to change everything, I need to get out of this habit of calling downstairs for coffee or water that I can get myself, I needed to work out more and eat healthier I needed to get myself down to the kitchen and have a chat with our cook to make sure from now on everything that is cooked for me, has no bad oils, has no extra salt, has no added sugar, has no cream or butter, I was to change my Kuwaiti life that I know to a new healthy and clean one.

Every day I got in my car and drove down to mishref where I ran for 6 kilometers. I would see friends running together and really wanted to be like them or join them. During college I lost touch with a lot of my friends and when I moved back things were not the same and so I was here again, at the same place, basically friendless.

While I was running one day I decided to set up a private club of people that enjoy working out, running or walking. I started to toy a lot with the names and I came up with some really funky ones but as I was brain storming I remember crossing the 3 kilometers mark in mishref walkway and it was my six-kilometer mark (my way back to the car). I loved the name I thought it had a nice ring to it and it meant something to me.

Facebook is where Calvin, one of the nicest and kindest people I’ve got to know and my very close friend, and I started the Six-K Club, a place where I believed people would come to meet friends, work out, get inspired and change their lives. It would slowly grow to be the place where Sarah, Farah, Yousef, Mohammed, Saud, and so many people lose some pounds and make lasting friendships (ali, fawaz, abdulrazzag) the list of wonderful stories can be told without a stop in sight.

We now are a private club, operated through the web at http://www.six-k.com with more than 800 members and going strong, well let me tell you about now …

This entry was posted in The Six-K Club. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Part 3 : After

  1. Maze says:

    Without you bro nothing would have been done..ur the inspiration for all of us…:)

  2. farah.s says:

    I was chating with my family yesterday about the 6k club and i was more than happy that many and many have watched Al watan tv intreview with U 3asal , and i i felt as if they were talking about one of my lovely brothers or my precious kids , We will support you always coz i am sure when i needed help u was there for me 🙂 Take care

    thanks hon, thank you so much.

  3. Saud Al-Rayes says:

    Damn 🙂 nice!!! keep them coming!!

  4. readmyblog says:

    Soo this story is a trilogy right? I will comment again after i read the whole thing. 🙂

    1 last part, and i’m the guy who was waving you down on gulf road when you looked half asleep behind the wheel in the silver porsche.

  5. mimi says:

    واااو… بصراحه القصه وايد تشجع واهم شي انها حقيقه
    برافو

    thanks mimi

  6. Danna says:

    I think you should really consider writing a book you have no idea how much your story will inspire so many others! You must be so proud of yourself, I am proud of you and i know everyone else is! You can look back at it all and smile, look what you have become, what you have learnt along the way and how many others will take your words in and change the way they are just like you did! we need more people like you out there 🙂 keep writing, can’t wait to read the rest!

    and you are pookie.

  7. your dad says:

    One more talent I just found out you posses.You are a great writer you really should consider writting a book.

  8. awash says:

    your story really moves my feeling I feel I wanna Do it ! walking every day ,,im really aproud of u 🙂 ur a amazing keep it up jasseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeem :O God bless u man

  9. neil kallabat says:

    wasssup JZ
    GOD BLESS YOU KID FOR ALL THE GOOD YOU DO FOR OTHERS, ALLOW ME TO SAY THIS FOR A PERSON WHO HAS STRUGLED WITH WEIGHT BEFORE EVERY NEW DAY FOR US IS A CHALLANGE AND STRUGGLE IN THE SAME TIME, THERE IS ALWAYS THE FEAR OF WHAT IF I GAIN ALL THE WEIGHT I LOST BACK AND LOOK LIKE A BLIMP, AND LEARNING FROM YOUR PAST MISTAKES IS A GREAT LESSON FOR THE FUTURE.
    AND DAD I TOTALY AGREE WITH YOU ABOUT THE BOOK I HAVE TOLD JASEM THAT AS WELL, HE IS CRAZY NOT TO WRITE ONE,AS A MATTER OF FACT IT SHOULD BE WRITTEN IN BOTH ARABIC AND ENGLISH.
    PS;I HAVE AN IDEA FOR YOU YOU SHOULD DO A SPEICAL WALK AND RAISE SOME MONEY MONEY FOR SOME LOCAL CHILDREN CHARITY ,GOOD DEEDS LIKE THIS WILL ALSO GIVE YOU AN EXPOSUREAND PUT YOU ON THE MAP

    Neilo, your my main man and u know it. Now is the time we put on a good Zegna suit and go to Vegas. Eh?

  10. Ali Al-Rayes says:

    thanx you jassim for making this club and if it wasn’t for u and s3aiwed i wouldn’t met you great guys and be friends with
    thanx thanx thanx alot :>

    afa 3alaik wawy 😛

  11. tota says:

    that’s great

    i’m in my way to be like U

    bravoooooo

    Winshalla better than me

Leave a Reply

