Letter From Afrah

Afrah AbdulRaheem

19 years old

First joined Six-K Club Saturday April 7th 2007

 

 

 

 

I

n the early ages of my life I was never happy with whom I am. I have always been overweight. I never saw myself thin or beautiful.

In school I was always called fat and this made life hard for me as a child. I was bullied because of my weight and children would always laugh at me. Furthermore in sports classes I was different than the other kids, I couldn’t jump, run, or even enjoy sports games because they were simply hard to do for a person my size.

 

When the weekend comes I would go out and enjoy myself with my friends for a good dinner but this makes it hard for me because passing by the tables to reach our table is annoying, yet in the cinema I would avoid sitting in the middle because I would get embarrassed by passing on the people and squashing their feet. I would rather stay at home.

I have always hated shopping because I couldn’t find anything looking good on me or anything that fits me. I also hated family gatherings because in our tradition we would sit and eat on the floor, however I would sit and think to myself “how would I get up again” I found it hard for me.

As an overweight child who grew up fat, I have always struggled with my weight and tried too many diets to lose weight and at once it seemed to me that nothing will work, until I have joined the Six-K Club. All the things that I hated have changed by my perception. The Six-K Club has changed my life I felt more comfortable with whom I am and had more confidence with what people thought of me. In the Six-K club I found motivation, inspiration and a goal for living a happy life as well as meeting new friends.

Since I first joined the Six-K Club a lot of things have changed. I have lost more than 20 kilos in that I have never lost before from my experience in diets. 

Six-K was not only a place to achieve my goal it was a place that was different to me, the wonderful people I meet, the respect I found and the care I got.

 

After everything else I would like to thank Jasem Al Zeraei for his success in building the Six-K Club and his support.

 

Come on people come and enjoy, get inspired, have fun and live a happy life with the www.Six-k.com and you will have the opportunity to listen to the real story live from Jasem Al Zeraei.

This entry was posted in The Six-K Club. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Letter From Afrah

  1. Nouf Hassan says:

    awwwwwwwwwwwwwww u make me proud girl ur dream is comin true ur nearly there !!! ib rab il ka3ba a7ibik ;*** LOL

  2. afrah says:

    THANKS NOUFFF :):):):):):)

  3. Moudhi al-mudhaf says:

    gurrrrrrrl!! keep it up…im so0oooooooo proud n happy!
    i believe in u..and cant wait 2 c u reach ur goal!!!

    Luv yaa lotz;***

    “Healthy citizens are the greatest asset any country can have”

  4. farah.s says:

    Good luck dear , you can do it 🙂

  5. Fillette says:

    I’m so proud of u Afrah although i never had the chance 2 meet u nor meet any1 from the group coz never had the time 2 attempt any walks but though i’m so happy 4 u n so proud of the group coz seriously guys u inspire us n u r the only hope that we never give up on tryin’ 2 feel n0rmal like others n live by doin’ our best 2 l0se weight
    Go afrah n vive the six k club;*

  6. 7yranaa says:

    keeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep On 🙂

  7. afrah says:

    Thanks moudiii ;* and all of u o enshallah we will meet some time Fillette
    enshallah i will keep it on ;p 7yrana
    thx farah.s and i belive i can do
    THX KELKOOOOM I LOVE U CANT WAIT TO SEE YOOOOU ALL bs plz jasim after my exams 3rd july 😛

  8. Aisha says:

    You make me happy!

    Afrah, I never told you this, but you are the one who has inspired me to lose wight although I as you know I’m always on a diet !!

    Because of you I’m nearly through achieving my goal “Inshala”. You don’t just inspire me you know you’re my homogenous.

    Keep it up and you know I’m always here for you!!

    BFF Forever ;***

  9. Aisha says:

    You make me happy!

    Afrah, I never told you this, but you are the one who has inspired me to lose weight although as you know I’m always on a diet !!
    Because of you I’m nearly through achieving my goal “Inshala”. You don’t just inspire me you know you’re my homogenous.

    Keep it up and you know I’m always here for you!!
    BFF Forever ;***

    * Sorry typing mistakes, in a hurry ;p

  10. Fatma says:

    Hi Afrah, I know what you mean! I read Jasem’s story only once and I still can’t get it out of my head! His pictures are his prove; what he’ve been through is tough and amazing! I’m so proud of him! And also you! You may not know me because I joined the 6K for other purpose and I’ve never joined any of your walks, but to know he’s out there helping individuals like yourself brings smile to my face 🙂
    In my case I always tell myself I can get in shape any time I want to, so I ignored exercises until last Sunday when I wore one of my tight tops and… I was shocked of how disgusting I look! And BAAM!!! I began exercising again! My body hurts a lot caus’ I haven’t done it in a long time but I’m happy of the feeling how my heart bumps!
    I just wanted to tell you that I know how you felt (we’re girls!) there’s pressure everywhere in our lives!

    Take care & good luck 🙂

  11. aisha says:

    AISHA THANK YOU AND AM HERE 2 !!!
    bs my wish ena u come to 6K o not be shy 🙂

  12. afrah says:

    soooorrrrrrrry i meant afrah my name LOOOOOOOOOOL
    AISHA THANK YOU AND AM HERE 2 !!!
    bs my wish ena u come to 6K o not be shy

  13. afrah says:

    THANK YOU FATMA for ur comment and your time and i would like to meet you some time. 🙂

  14. Khaloda says:

    Waw Afrah really very nice story
    May god make me like u guys ! I don’t have ur stronge will =)

  15. Pingback: Basketball Play Basketball Games Soccer Moms

Leave a Reply

